[Preview] Action Lab: Danger Zone’s ABERRANT Vol. 1 – The Must-Have TPB of 2018!

Aberrant

ABERRANT Vol. 1: A bold new thriller that
turns the military industrial complex on its head

Aberrant logo

On Wednesday, November 28th, Action Lab Entertainment’s Danger Zone imprint will release the first trade paperback (collecting issues 1-5) of ABERRANT, a truly filmic fit of comicsosity. It’s the obvious brainchild of a creator who has for years been penning smart, testosterone-driven action movies for some of Hollywood’s biggest directors, folks like J.J. Abrams, Ridley Scott, Justin Lin, F. Gary Gray, John Woo, and Luc Besson.

RELATED: PopCultHQ’s Spoiler-Free Review of ABERRANT #1

ABERRANT Vol. 1 TPB

Writer:
Rylend Grant

Artists:
Zsombor Huszka (Artist),
Davi Leon Dias (Artist),
Iwan Joko Triyono (Colorist),
HdE (Letterer)

Cover Artists:
Zsombor Huszka (Artist),
Davi Leon Dias (Artist),
Iwan Joko Triyono (Colorist)

160 pgs./ M / FC
$14.99

The story follows David, a U.S. Army Special Operations Commander who, distraught after losing his entire unit to a superhuman attack, wages an absolutely brutal one-man war on the eccentric billionaire and former superhero, Lance Cordrey, whom he believes is ultimately responsible. That is until Nelson Little, the head of a clandestine paramilitary outfit called Article 13, presents David with evidence that Cordrey may be a patsy, and David’s men were killed as part of a vast and twisted government/military conspiracy.

RELATED: PopCultHQ’s Spoiler-Free Review of ABERRANT #2

Creator Rylend Grant describes ABERRANT as a modern political/conspiracy thriller in the vein of Michael Clayton or Enemy of the State that explores how the United States’ military and geopolitical agenda would necessarily change if superpowered individuals (the “aberrant”) walked among us. He gleefully refers to his book as the karmic cousin of groundbreaking 70’s mindbenders like The Conversation and Marathon Man.

“ABERRANT is a military-slanted Three Days of the Condor,” says Grant with a wry smile, referring to the 1975 Sydney Pollack-helmed paranoid spy thriller. “You know… if there was a snarling superpowered badass waiting around every corner, hell-bent on stomping a mudhole in Robert Redford.”

ABERRANT hasn’t gone unnoticed by Hollywood’s movers and shakers. Collider announced in July that the series would be developed for television by 24 and Felicity Executive Producer Tony Krantz via his Flame Ventures banner. “Tony is one of the smartest people working in Hollywood today,” said Grant. “He has shown a uniquely genuine passion and enthusiasm for the book. I honestly couldn’t be more excited to write the pilot for him.” Krantz most recently produced Wu Assassins for Netflix.

~~~~~

What people are saying about Aberrant:

“Go home, other comics people. Rylend Grant and
Zsombor Huszka just killed the game…”
(Charles Pulliam-Moore – i09)

“ABERRANT offers an intense, near-cinematic reading experience that
incites excitement and inspires interest for issues to come.”
(The Brazen Bull)

“Aberrant flat-out works. You have visceral action scenes. Personalities practically ooze out of the page. Honestly, this is the kind of storytelling that the big publishers are missing.”
(Big Comic Page)

“…a bleak, dangerous and serious story with a lot at stake….
If you like revenge tales, military thrillers, and superheroes, ‘Aberrant’ has it all.”
(Spartantown)

“ABERRANT #1 is a game-changer at Action Lab: Danger Zone.
You’ll become captivated almost immediately…
The creative team put together one of the most seamless, cohesive,
and dynamic collaborations I’ve seen this year on the indie scene.”
(PopCultHQ)

Readers will be delighted to find the first volume of ABERRANT jam-packed with hit songs from artists like Elvis Presley, Dean Martin, The Temptations, Bobby McFerrin, Wilson Phillips, and R. Kelly, a true rarity in the world of comics. “I wanted the book to feel like a really great action movie,” said Grant. “Well, really great action movies always have REALLY great soundtracks. It wasn’t easy to pull off. Clearing music for use in print publications is costly and time consuming, but it was well worth it in the end. The music is incorporated in a really clever way here. We’ve definitely produced something that people haven’t seen before.”

No word yet on whether or not Kenny Loggins will be contributing an original song.

RELATED: [Interview] The Creative Team Behind Action Lab: Danger Zone’s ABERRANT

PREVIEW PAGES

Preorder ABERRANT Vol. 1 on Amazon or via
your local comic book shop with the Diamond item code: SEP181363.


Publisher – Action Lab Entertainment

`

`

`

`

`

AL
AL:DZ
AL
AL:DZ
AL
AL:DZ

`

`

`

About Jason Bennett 3646 Articles
Jason Bennett is PopCultHQ's chief editor, a contributing writer, and comic book reviewer/reporter. One with the Force. Browncoats Unite! So say we all! Follow Jason on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram: @TahoeJBennett

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.