[Comic Book Review] Mage, Book Two: The Hero Defined, Vol. 3 from Image Comics

Mage Vol. 3

PopCultHQ received a review copy of Mage, Book Two: The Hero Defined, Vol. 3 from Image Comics. Available January 10th, 2018, the creative team for this trade features writing and art from Matt Wagner, coloring from Jeromy Cox, and lettering from Sean Konot.

Here’s PopCultHQ’s spoiler-free review of…

Mage, Book Two: The Hero Defined, Vol. 3

Writer: Matt Wagner

Artist: Matt Wagner
Colorist: Jeromy Cox
Letterer: Sean Konot

In Shops: January 10th, 2018
SRP: $19.99

The third of six volumes collecting MATT WAGNER’s epic fantasy trilogy. THE HERO DEFINED was the series that first saw WAGNER join the ranks of Image Comics creators and continues the saga of the reborn Pendragon, Kevin Matchstick. Several years after the events of THE HERO DISCOVERED, Kevin finds himself partnered with a posse of comrades who also embody the powers and personas of ancient heroes. Together they confront and battle a litany of supernatural challenges, all seemingly orchestrated by an unseen malevolence from Kevin’s past.

MATT WAGNER’s classic epic of comics fantasy has been beloved by both old fans and new readers for decades. MAGE was at the vanguard of the independent comics scene and continues to be an inspiration for many contemporary creators. With the release of the final part of the MAGE trilogy, THE HERO DENIED, this series will be an essential part of any comics library. MAGE: THE HERO DENIED resumes next month with issue number five.


PopCultHQ’s Comic Book Review:
Mage, Book Two: The Hero Defined, Vol. 3

Writing/Art:

Mage’ is one of Matt Wagner’s greatest works. Here in the third volume, readers get to see Kevin traverse the country, meeting other heroes and slaying monsters. Along the way, he and his friends are drawn further and further into an intricate plot. This is fabulous from both a writing and art perspective. Matt took to this latest crack at bat with Kevin like getting back on a bicycle and it shows.

Art:

Jeromy as colorist was a great decision. He attacked the assignment like the pro that he is. All the coloring is spot on. Things like Kevin’s clothes, the abilities of various heroes and monsters, Excalibur’s being used, all are colored with careful consideration. Books like this require a lot of bright and vivid color and Jeremy delivers it all to readers.

Sean’s a stand up guy in the lettering department. There is elegance and grace in his style, even when he is lettering the monsters. What is amazing is that even though none of the heroes or Kevin have accented letters, they all have distinctive voices channeled throughout the book. It’s as if Sean sat down with them all to understand who they are and how they would sound on paper.

PopCultHQ’s overall assessment:

Fans of Mage and Kevin Pendragon will get a kick out the re-release of Vol. 3. It is just as splashy and loud and exciting as it was years ago. Now, as Kevin’s third and final act starts to wrap up, readers can go back and enjoy his earlier adventures while waiting for the next issue of ‘The Hero Denied’ to hit shops.

PopCultHQ’s Rating:

5 Out of 5 Stars

Mage, Book Two: The Hero Defined, Vol. 3 can be purchased on ComiXology
and available at your local comic shop and online retailers on January 10th, 2018!


Be sure to follow the creative team!

Writer- Matt Wagner

`

 

 

 

`

Colorist – Jeromy Cox

`

 

 

 

`

Letterer – Sean Konot

`

 

 

 

`

Publisher – Image Comics

`

`

`

 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply