You are here
Home > Comic Books > Comic Book News > Action Lab Announces Five New Series Coming in 2017

Action Lab Announces Five New Series Coming in 2017

148016137281763 ACTION LAB ANNOUNCES NEW SERIES FOR Q1 2017

For the past five years, Action Lab Entertainment has been at the forefront of innovative, boundary pushing genre comics, and in 2017 they are positioning themselves as the destination for creator-owned series for pros and fans alike. Here’s a look at the new debuts for Action Lab, as well as their mature readers imprint Danger Zone, in early 2017.

new-al-banner-top
Established series PRINCELESS will return
with a Spanish language translation in January,
along with the debut of Bryan Seaton and ZOMBIE TRAMP creator Dan Mendoza’s new ongoing monthly series, DOLLFACE.

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

A decidedly different beast from Zombie Tramp, DOLLFACE centers around Lila, a 17th century soul that has been transported into present time and into the body of a life size, ball jointed doll, created by a couple of MIT students trying to use technology and a 3D printer to create the perfect women.

Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon and Weird Science will love DOLLFACE,
which debuts with a double-sized 64 page issue!

~~~~~~~


In February, multiple Eisner award-winning creator Franco
(Tiny Titans, Itty Bitty Hellboy)
brings his next graphic novel series to Action Lab!

zzzzzzzzz

A young girl, rumored to be born from a Peach, is shunned and bullied in her own village and sets off on a quest for Monster Isle to prove to others she is more than just what they think of her.  Her journey brings her encounters with not just monsters, but hunters and pirates and witches.  She must learn that she has nothing to prove to anyone except herself. Masterfully drawn by Agnes Garbowska (My Little Pony), PEACH AND THE ISLE OF MONSTERS is sure to appeal to fans of all ages!

~~~~~~~


Also in February, action hero archetypes are re-imagined
in a blockbuster series called INFINITE SEVEN

unnamed-100

This new, ongoing monthly series is written by Dave Dwonch (Cyrus Perkins and the Haunted Taxi Cab, Vamplets) with art by Arturo Mesa and Geraldo Filho. INFINITE SEVEN builds a world of secret world governments, master assassins and international terrorists, and is sure to appeal to fans of GI Joe, James Bond and classic 80s action flicks.

~~~~~~~


March brings the debut of AMERIKARATE,
a satirical send up of the same films celebrated in INFINITE SEVEN.

unnamed-99

Jam-packed with over the top humor, pop culture references and insane action sequences, AMERIKARATE celebrates the best and worst of the films we love with a sharp, hilarious script by Corey Kalman and Brockton McKinney (Gingerdeadman, Ehmm Theory), and art by Bob’s Burger’s lead animator, Devin Roth. If you love films like Rambo, Gymkata, Bloodsport and Footloose, you will LOVE Amerikarate!

~~~~~~~


March also brings the return of Katie Carva
in the bad-girl comic with a twist,
VAMPBLADE Season Two!

unnamed-98
Jason Martin‘s hit series returns with regular series artist Winston Young, and serious upgrades as the fans decide her new costume in the fallout of events from VAMPBLADE Season One #12. While details are being held close to the vest, fans can log in to vote for their favorite costume here.

~~~~~~~

Along with these four new titles, fan favorite and critically acclaimed all-ages series ACTION LAB: DOG OF WONDER, Peter David’s ARTFUL, ATHENA VOLTAIRE, HERO CATS and ZAG Entertainment’s MIRACULOUS will continue into 2017 as well, with the sci-fi epic BLUE HOUR rounding out the returning lineup. The Danger Zone series BRIGANDS, COUGAR and CUB, THE CIRCLE, TOMBOY and ZOMBIE TRAMP will also continue to push the industry forward with the thought-provoking, boundary pushing, top-shelf quality that the mature reader imprint has become known for.

Action Lab's Dave Dwonch
Action Lab’s Dave Dwonch

“This is a GREAT time to be a fan of Action Lab,” said President of Marketing and Development, Dave Dwonch. “We’ve positioned ourselves as the go-to company for creators and fans alike, and the 2017 lineup really drives that home. Expect even more great books in Q2 and beyond!”

Look for all of these titles and more in 2017!

new-al-banner-bottom


new-al-bottomABOUT ACTION LAB ENTERTAINMENT– Formed in 2010 with the purpose of pooling their collective talents into a single, powerful entity, the members of Action Lab Entertainment have countless years in multimedia publishing, design, and business.  Their first release, Fracture, was successfully funded through Kickstarter and since then they have continued their mission to produce high quality, genre-spanning entertainment.  Since its formation, the accolades for A.L.E continue to build on a daily basis.  Among its more popular titles are all ages material like the Eisner, Glyph, Shel Dorf Award nominated series PRINCELESS, MIRACULOUS (based on the Nickelodeon Television series), Jamal Igle’s MOLLY DANGER, Artist/ Writer Katie Cook’s GRONK and Gayle Middleton’s (My Little Pony, The Littlest Pet Shop) monstrously adorable VAMPLETS. Action Lab’s Mature Readers imprint ACTION LAB DANGER ZONE continues to push the envelope of comics entertainment with titles as varied as Charles Band’s PUPPET MASTER and Dan Mendoza’s over the top horror-comedy ZOMBIE TRAMP, VAMPBLADE and ITTY BITTY BUNNIES IN RAINBOW PIXIE CANDY LAND, and socially relevant titles including SOUTHERN DOG, KINGDOM BUM and M Goodwin’s TOMBOY.

*** info courtesy of Action Lab Entertainment

Jason Bennett

Jason Bennett is PopCultHQ’s chief editor, a contributing writer, and comic book reviewer/reporter. One with the Force. Browncoats Unite! So say we all!

Follow Jason on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram: @TahoeJBennett

Top
%d bloggers like this: