You are here
Home > Comic Books > Comic Book News > Valiant Comics and Hastings Team Up For “Comics College” Workshops – Have Your Art On A Valiant FCBD Title!

Valiant Comics and Hastings Team Up For “Comics College” Workshops – Have Your Art On A Valiant FCBD Title!

Comics College

Valiant Comics just announced a partnership with Hastings, the multimedia store, to offer a series of workshops at their numerous brick-and-mortar locations across the U.S.  The video workshops feature creators from various Valiant titles as they discuss the creating process from start to finish.  In addition, Valiant is conducting a contest in conjunction with the workshops.  This is your opportunity to not only show off your talent, but you also have the possibility of having your artwork on the cover of 2016’s Free Comic Book Day (FCBD) Special – Valiant: 4001 A.D. (Hastings variant).

Contestants will need to draw, color, or ink their favorite Valiant comic character.  There are a number of ways to submit an entry: Mail-In, E-Mail, Facebook, and Twitter.  Read the details on the image above.

 

Here is the official press release:

Broadcasting into more than 140 Hastings locations nationwide, each installment of “Comics College” offers an inside look at the process of creating comics from start to finish. Featuring a new conversation with a different Valiant creator each week, join us here as some of the brightest talents in comics today examine the most important aspects of working in the comics industry today – from getting your first big break and writing your first script to the finer points of portfolio reviews for artists and editors alike…and much more!

Plus: Valiant is giving each Hastings viewer their shot at their chance to win the prize of a lifetime – their first professional published comics debut – with the official “Comics College” contest! Over the course of the “Comics College” event, aspiring artists nationwide are encouraged to illustrate and submit their favorite Valiant comics character in a captivating scene of their own choosing. From there, the winning piece will then be published as the official art for Hastings’ exclusive variant cover for the VALIANT: 4001 A.D. FCBD SPECIAL – hitting Hastings stores everywhere for Free Comic Book Day 2016!

Creators scheduled to stream during the workshop include:

WEEK ONE – HOW TO WRITE COMICS
Fred Van Lente (Writer, Archer & Armstrong; Ivar, Timewalker)
January 30th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK TWO – HOW COMICS ARE MADE
Robert Venditti (Writer, X-O Manowar; Wrath of the Eternal Warrior)
February 6th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK THREE – HOW TO BREAK INTO COMICS
Jody Houser (Writer, Faith)
February 13th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK FOUR – PORTFOLIO REVIEW
David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
February 20th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

Contact your local Hastings location or visit GoHastings.com/ComicsCollege for more details and complete contest guidelines. Beginning on January 30th, prepare yourself for a crash course in making comics like a pro with a priceless treasure trove of behind-the-scenes insights…coming soon to a Hastings location near you!

 

Jason Bennett
Jason Bennett is PopCultHQ's senior editor, a contributing writer, and comic book reviewer/reporter. He is a big lover of coffee, cats, cooking and comics (plus all things Green Lantern). He is a strong supporter of indie comics, creators, and publishers and Chris Hardwick is his spirit animal (we don't know how to respond to that). Follow Jason on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram: @TahoeJBennett
Top
%d bloggers like this: